Italian Bomboniere









I’ve never been much of a collector, minus the usual stamp collection I had when I was a kid. Since I’ve moved to Italy, I’ve started collecting Italian Bomboniere. Bomboniere are little “favors/trinkets” that are given out at weddings, first communions, confirmations, graduations and the silver and gold wedding anniversaries. They contain 5 candy coated almonds (confetti in Italian), the color depending on the occasion along with a small piece of paper with the name(s) of the person(s) and the date of the event. White for weddings, first communion and confirmtion; red for graduations. Here are photos of my bomboniere collection for your viewing pleasure. Which one is your favorite and why?

13 responses to “Italian Bomboniere

  1. Leah, that is also my favorite bomboniere. That bomboniere is from a confirmation of one of our friend’s daughter. As you can see, they can go from simple and nice to very elaborate. The 3rd one down, is from when my husband and I got married back in April 2002. My husband chose it, I personally would have chosen something a little more elaborate, like the top photo. But hey, can’t complain, my husband did do a good job choosing the one he did.

  2. Leah, that is also my favorite bomboniere. That bomboniere is from a confirmation of one of our friend’s daughter. As you can see, they can go from simple and nice to very elaborate. The 3rd one down, is from when my husband and I got married back in April 2002. My husband chose it, I personally would have chosen something a little more elaborate, like the top photo. But hey, can’t complain, my husband did do a good job choosing the one he did.

  3. I also love the fairy. But on a different note, I find it incredibly intriguing that you’ve adapted to Italy so well. You’re married to an Italian man, and you have grown to love their customs. Its really amazing.

    I don’t know if I would so easily be able to fit into a completely different country and culture.

    I would love to immigrate to the UK or New Zealand someday, but the culture diff’s are probably the biggest challenge for me. I lived in the UK for a year, and LOVED IT, but still there are so many things that are different from South Africa. I’m not sure how I’d cope with knowing that my kids will miss out on their heritage.

  4. Dizzy Dee, I wouldn’t say that I’ve grown to love their customs. I’ve adapted to life here in Italy yes, but I do have my days that things drive me crazy. There are things I like, for example the bomboniere, or how artistic Italian cakes can be.

    Do I regret moving to Italy? No, not in the least. I can say I’ve grown up a lot, learned and still always learning the language, always learning about the culture in the area.

  5. I think I like the bottom one the most, just because the color choice is so unusual for a bomboniere.

    I hate to say it, but it kinda reminds me almost of womens sensual underwear, like the kind that she’d wear to tease her partner.

    Either way, it’s still my favourite lol.

  6. The bottom one is my second favorite. also because it’s not the “typical” white but red. Red is used for graduations. This specific bomboniere is when an ex-student now friend graduated from Politechnico in Milan.

  7. I found this cute little trinket, and immediately thought of you post. Have a look at this: http://www.weddingtabledecor.com/catalog/item/4293299/4663340.htm#image_1

    I would love something like this for myself!

  8. Dizzy Dee, that is so totally adorable! Also very kind of thinking of my post! I also would have liked something like that when my husband and I got married.

  9. atomicvelvetsigh

    passing by from BE’s blog rocket..

    i guess my fave would be the Legano wedding small bag.. i luv how it looked like a hand crafted miniature “bayong”. in my country we use this as replacement for plastic, and is made of coconut leaves..

  10. That would be interesting to see, made of coconut leaves!

  11. unique wedding favors

    We urge you to take a gander of all our product categories, study our product line and see why more brides choose HQ Wedding Favors to accommodate their needs. We have fine gifts to cater to the entire wedding party. If you need groomsmen gifts, bridesmaids gifts and gifts for the mother of the bride, we have a full line to fit any need or budget.

    http://allmattersafrican.com/Associates/how-to-make-sachets.html

Leave a comment