Overhaul

Wow, it’s been way too long since I’ve posted.  Six long years.  Shortly I hope to do a bit of an overhaul on this blog.  We live pretty much a normal life here in Italy.  but hopefully things will be changing a bit.  Will still post about living in Italy as an American.  But with the Presidential election next year in the United States, may post about that as well.

Well, still in Italy.  I officially have a European driver’s license, we’ve adopted two cats which are our pride and joy.  Our oldest cat, Princess Bunny, she’s three year old and is originally from Verona, Italy.  Clyde, he’s one year old and was an orphan in Romania.

Two years ago I had an ovarian cyst the size of an orange removed, along with my right ovary and left Fallopian tube.  Now I am okay, but every year I have to have blood exams, mammogram and CAT scan with contrast to make sure all is still okay.  All exams done here in Italy.  Thankfully, seriously.  Does not cost us anything.

Three years ago my husband had a mild stroke and spent a week in the hospital.  Again, we did not have to pay anything.  We both alo discovered we have diabetes type 2, high blood pressure and high cholesterol.  Medications cost us a fraction compared to the United States.  We are both thankful to have access to such a civilized system/universal health care.  Quality of care no complaints at all.  I’ve attached three photos of my room from two years ago.  My husband stayed at the same hospital when he had hi stroke.  Ospedale di Legnano, Legnano, province of Milan, Italy.  It is a fairly new hospital, opened about ten year ago.

 

One response to “Overhaul

  1. HI. So nice to see you posting again! I am sorry you and your husband had serious health issues but glad all is well again. Looking forward to future posts!

Leave a comment