Housesitting

My husband’s parents left on Sunday for the Greek island of Crete and will be there for three weeks on vacation. So we have the honor of house sitting while they are gone. Therefore my posts will be more irregular than before due to the fact I am using a small Acer Aspire One netbook. It’s not my wonderful iMac, but at least is a computer and I am able to keep connected. I am seriously thinking of bringing over my iMac. We shall see.

In June I will be heading to the United States for two weeks. I am flying into Denver, spending the night then the next day renting a car from Boulder and driving to Sioux Falls. I need to renew my driver’s license and also see my mom and friends. I haven’t been back to Sioux Falls since my father passed away in September 2005 so it is time to go back and visit. I am planning on staying in Sioux Falls about ten days, drive back to Colorado and spend about 3-4 days in the Boulder area since I have never visited Colorado.

When I fly back to Italy I have a ten hourish layover in Philadelphia, so I plan on going to the center city and do some sight seeing. I am planning on visiting the Liberty Bell, maybe Christ Church.

10 responses to “Housesitting

  1. Oh Crete for three weeks? Lucky them – it’s a lovely island.
    Sounds like a great trip is ahead of you. Never been to CO myself :o)

  2. Sounds like a great trip you have planned!
    Hope the house sitting provides some fun too.

  3. Yuppers, Crete. They went to another Greek island last year, I think Kos, again for three weeks.

    The house sitting bit, well it gets old pretty quick. My in-law’s go on vacation every year for 3 weeks and we get the pleasure of house sitting, every year. Thankfully we don’t very far, maybe a couple of miles away, so if we need to get something from home it isn’t a problem.

  4. Sounds like a great trip! And just at the perfect time too… We just did 8 days driving in California along with my brothers wedding. I am tired but feel so refreshed.

    Have fun house sitting… Jealousy sets in when I hear about everyone’s vacation plans.

  5. What an exciting prospect of your travel destinations. Gather your breath home alone for a while.

  6. A breath of fresh air indeed, one that is very need and long overdue. True we went to England for 5 days in February and was nice to get away for a few days. But nothing beats going back “home” for a short time, and also alone, to gather my thoughts and like you said Martin, to catch my breath a bit.

    I love my husband dearly, don’t get me wrong, but some days apart I think would do both of us some good. One does not realize how much you take the other person for granted until you are apart.

  7. have a nice trip. A vacation is always needed!

  8. Hey lucky you are, sounds good plan!! Have a nice stay!!!

  9. Wow, we go back to the states every year, and often through Philadelphia, but never a 10 hour layover! That’s a long one!
    I don’t blame you for doing some sightseeing while there- we’re never in a city long enough to do anything but run to the next plane.
    We leave mid-June and I am already stressed.. of course, we’re flying with a two-year-old.. might have something to do with it.

  10. Just stopping by to say hi! Hoping your plans are going well and you are in CO now :o)

Leave a Reply

