Back from England

We arrived last night from our little trip up to England. It was SO nice being computer and cell phone-free for five days. Usually we’re a Macintosh household but the computer technician had bought a little Acer Aspire laptop to bring along for the trip, using it as a “navigator” versus bringing along the TomTom (he discovered big mistake), check email etc. Friday he ended up downloading a virus and disabled the laptop for the rest of the trip. I told the computer technician, maybe it isn’t such a bad thing, not being constantly attached to the pc 24/7.

Last night we flew into Bergamo Orio al Serio Airport on Ryanair from Liverpool. The plane was packed, mainly of supporters of Manchester United Football team. Manchester United is playing against Inter this evening in Milan. Evidently the supporters started drinking in the airport and after the seatbelt light was off on the plane, a good share made their way to the bathroom. One supporter sexually harrassed one of the flight attendants, the police where waiting for him when we landed in Italy. The entire one hour forty five minute flight consisted of the Manchester United supporters singing and talking loudly. I even tried listening to my iPod, volume full blast and still couldn’t drown out their voices. I reall felt sorry for the flight attendents for what they had to put up with last night.

This week sometime I will be posting more about my trip to England along with some photos.

On a different note, I’ve mentioned in the past that I have tried to remove the nofollow code from my blog, but evidently my blog is still nofollow. I’m not “fluent” in HTML, could anyone help?

10 responses to “Back from England

  1. Ann I think this tutorial will do the trick. I am not computer savvy but managed! Also Sheila at a postcard a day used it recently.
    http://www.blogdoctor.me/2007/03/remove-nofollow-attribute-on-comments.html

    Good Luck

    Regards

    Mike

  2. Thanks Mike. I’ve removed the nofollow words from my template. I’ve done that in the past to no avail so hopefully this time ’round it’ll help.

  3. Ann, I’ve just taken a look at your blog’s source code and I can’t see any nofollow tags around the comment section. All links are followed — which will make you a great target for spammers.

  4. Adam, thanks for letting me know. Up until now, knock on wood, haven’t really had any problems with spammers. Usually has only happened on rare occasion, and of course the comment right after yours just happened to be spam.

  5. Adam, thanks for letting me know. Up until now, knock on wood, haven’t really had any problems with spammers. Usually has only happened on rare occasion, and of course the comment right after yours just happened to be spam.

  6. Hooligans! That’s the only thing I do not miss about soccer :o)
    I’m glad you made it back safe ;o)

  7. Ann, thats it I just checked using SEO for FireFox.

    As for spammers just moderate your comments.

    Since I changed MTF some months ago I have not had ANY spam, however traffic and readers have increased considerably.

    I hope you get the same and continue to grow your excellent blog.

  8. Ann – I also checked your code. First off, the “no follow” would have to be placed in your head section under the meta tags. All of this does not exist.

    When you publish a new post, the robots will come and slurp your site for the search engines. By the way, last cache happened on the 24th so your no follow tags are definitely not around..

    This is Google’s cache of http://amborg.blogspot.com/. It is a snapshot of the page as it appeared on 24 Feb 2009 13:46:17 GMT. The current page could have changed in the meantime. Learn more..

    Sounds like a fun time, can’t wait for the pics!

  9. Can’t wait to read about your trip. I’m glad you got home safely 🙂

  10. Martin In Bulgaria

    Football post – Can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

