My Photo Portfolio part 1

I love Black & White photos. I took these photos a little over ten years ago in an old 1880’s village west of Murdo South Dakota along Interstate 90 with my grandfather’s old 35 mm camera. This was before digital cameras where in-style so to speak.
I have not retouched these photos in any sense, with the minor exception of putting my blog address on the photos using Adobe ImageReady and reducing the size so the photos would fit onto my blog.
I have no “formal” photography training, with the exception of when I was in high school, my junior year, I was in photography club and also some help/training from my grandfather with black & white film. Black & White photography was a passion of my grandfather. So much so he had his own little dark room in the basement to develop his photos.
I want to develop, no pun intended, this skill into a job. Would love to actually get paid to travel the globe and take photos. My experience you ask? I have plenty of personal experience traveling around various parts and of course hiding behind the camera photographing my memories.
Wednesday the computer technician and I are off to England for five days and of course at least one camera if not two will be in tow. While I’m gone and away from the blogging/internet world, enjoy the photos. I’m going to be scheduling some posts while I am gone with more photos. So check back often!

16 responses to “My Photo Portfolio part 1

  1. The picture of the hotel is really cool 🙂

  2. Do not wish to be too rude but I think photography is not your best point. Excellent photos you have taken but millions better out there.

  3. No offense taken Anonymous. There are better and also worse out there. I claim not to be a professional photographer, it is a hobby nothing more. There is always room for improvement, no one is perfect. If everyone was perfect, this world would be pretty boring would it not?

  4. They actually look like they were taken in the 20s, not just ten years ago. I love it!
    Oh bummer, the anonymous right above me is truing to ruin your dream. It’s o.k. You never know what the future will bring ;o)
    Have fun in England!

  5. Ivanhoe, can look at Anonymous’ comment one of two ways, trying to ruin a person’s dream, or as constructive criticism and use it to improve on something. I prefer the latter.

  6. I think those pictures are great.
    Have a nice trip and I hope you do take more photos

  7. These are simply incredible!! My husband and I plan to do the same thing.

    He retires in 2 years and we are going to travel and hopefully make some money from our cameras.

    I am a novice but he has been taking pictures for years and for a while way back did his own developing!!

    I hope you have fun and I can’t wait to see the pictures!!:-)

  8. Again, great photos – the B&W format was especially suited to this farm portfolio. Enjoy following your blog. Wishing you the best.

  9. Ann I like the B&W format and hate anonymous comments!

  10. Martin in Bulgaria

    H Ann,
    There is something about BW photography that captures a stark atmosphere. These pictures are worthy of framing and hanging on walls. What about making a calendar if you have 12? There are lots of software around and not too late to give as presents for people for this year!

  11. Aah, the plains of the Dakotas. I’ve driven through both N. Dakota and S. Dakota (the long ways) and there are some great places for photography. I’d rather not do that again though.

  12. Anonymous is not just a coward, but also a poser. The composition in these photographs is perfect. Thank you for sharing them.

  13. I also love black and white photos. They relive memories for me.

    nice site here…can i link you?

  14. You took very beautiful pictures. Thanks for sharing them with us.

  15. I’d like to share with you the Photography ‘rule of thirds’. You never put the horizon in the middle of the shot-too boring. Put it in the top third or the bottom third of the photo, depending on what’s more interesting-land or sky. Try it!

  16. I’d like to share with you the Photography ‘rule of thirds’. You never put the horizon in the middle of the shot-too boring. Put it in the top third or the bottom third of the photo, depending on what’s more interesting-land or sky. Try it!

Leave a Reply

