Merry Christmas 2008

Merry Christmas/Happy Holidays everyone! I know this is a couple of days early but tomorrow I do not know if I will be online very much, if at all. For sure not on Thursday. Tomorrow evening we’re going to my husband’s parent’s home for a “light” Christmas Eve dinner, then on Christmas Day we are going to be at my husband’s sister’s home for lunch. She’s a very good cook, but usually cooks enough for an Army.

Do you feel the holidays have become too commercialized? I feel that they have. But at the same time, if the present is something that someone needs, I have no problems at all with that and is money well spent. Yes our family gets together to eat and exchange gifts. I do enjoy going shopping for gifts, but for gifts that the receiver would enjoy and can actually use. I do not believe in buying to “impress”. Books are a great gift. I’ve made a Wishlist over on Amazon.Co.UK of books I want to read. At the moment I am bookless, having read everything I have. Why the UK version of Amazon you ask? Well it is easier and faster to receive books and such from the UK compared to North America.

The photo is of the company across the street from my apartment building with their hanging Santas.

22 responses to “Merry Christmas 2008

  1. I agree the holidays have in many ways lost their meaning due to over commercialization. Still I try to find the best of the season, and remain optimistic 🙂 Merry Christmas!

  2. I know the holidays are way too commercialized, especially here in north america. We are enjoying time together this year.

    Happy Holidays and enjoy your time with your family! Great santa photo!

  3. Spending time with family at Christmas is always a joy, but it’s just more fun when you have younger children.

    Merry Christmas!

    Being bookless is no way to live. I hope you get many books under your tree 😉

    For some reason Google isn’t letting me post as myself, so…

    cube
    http://cube47.blogspot.com/

  4. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!
    DCRose

  5. Martin in Bulgaria

    Happy Seasonal Greetings from Bulgaria. 🙂

  6. Martin in Bulgaria

    Happy Seasonal Greetings from Bulgaria. 🙂

  7. Christmas commercialized? No way! (sarcasm)
    Truthfully I have never seen so many tacky Christmas decorations before in my life as i did since moving back to the US (especially in NJ with the McMansions).
    Who invented those giant balloon snowglobes or Santa and reindeer on a carosel? UGLY!!
    Christmas is not about Christ or being with family, it is about having more butt-ugly decorations in front of your house than the neighbors do-at least here in NJ.
    On that note, happy holidays. Have a great dinner and lunch with your family and I hope you get lots of books.

  8. Wishing you and your family a Merry Xmas!!

  9. Everyone thinks the holiday is too commercialized, except the merchants. :S Oh well. I wish you a Merry Christmas and may God bless you and yours. 🙂

  10. Unfortunately, this time of year has become too commercialized. With family and friends, it’s important to remember that the best gift you can give is yourself – and this doesn’t cost anything.

    All the best for a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

  11. Merry Christmas. Stop by my blog whe4n you get a chance, I have a surprise for you.
    Fondly, DCRose

  12. Merry Christmas. Stop by my blog whe4n you get a chance, I have a surprise for you.
    Fondly, DCRose

  13. Merry Christmas!
    Peace, Health and Joy.

  14. your "Health Assistant"

    Happy Healthy Holidays!!!
    for you and your family!

    HealthAssistant

  15. Hope and peace for this holiday season and for a fantastic 2009!

    peace,
    mike
    livelife365
    Happy Holidays!

  16. Merry CHristmas!

  17. Merry Christmas young lady…:))

  18. Merry Christmas to you too!

  19. Merry Christmas & Happy Holidays!

  20. Hope you had a terrific Christmas :o)

  21. Hope you had a wonderful holiday time! The Santa photo is funny!

  22. An American in France

    I’ve always thought that the holidays are over commercialized. My husband and I canceled our cable television plan. We’ve noticed that we’ve not been suckered into buying as many things as usual. Christmas also seemed to come really fast which I also liken to not watching as much TV.

Leave a Reply

