The Secret

Have you read the book or seen the movie, The Secret by Rhonda Byrne? I have seen the movie, read the book a couple of times at least and try to listen to all or part of the audio book on a daily basis. The basis of The Secret, the Law of Attraction. What do you know of the Law of Attraction? Do you believe in the Law of Attraction?

Have heard some mixed reviews from people. Have had some students, after reading an article about The Secret where rather hesitant and not interested. But after listening to the audio book, they had at least one good thing to say about The Secret. All of my students said and agreed with the point of thinking more positively. Thinking positively on a constant basis isn’t always easy. I admit, especially the last few years I thought more negative thoughts than positive. Changing one’s way of thinking isn’t so easy nor does it happen overnight. But with persistence a person can achieve anything.

Yes I do believe in the Law of Attraction, that also what we think we create. Why is it that when we continually think negative thoughts that negative things happen in our lives? Think about it. Why is it when you continually complain about something that more things come into your life to complain about?

Another key point in The Secret, besides having a positive attitude, is being grateful. It is suggested to write down every day what you are thankful for right now. When you wake up in the morning, be thankful. What are you grateful for RIGHT NOW?

I do have a Vision Board on my desk. I have photos of my perfect house in Canada, the Canadian Flag, a photo of millions of dollars and also a Superenalotto lottery ticket. What is on your vision board?

17 responses to “The Secret

  1. Hello,
    you may also be interested in Esther & Jerry Hicks' book 'Law of Attraction'.
    It changed my way of thinking completely. I envision perfect health on a daily basis.

  2. i have my favourite apartment too on it too. 😉 pls several interior decor photos to inspire me towards my dream home!

  3. hi ann, how are u? what happened? u were gone for so long….

  4. Duni – will definately check out the “Law of Attraction” book that you mentioned.

    Kacy – Great idea as in regards to the interior decor photos!

    Irtiza – I’m doing ok, how about you? There are times where I don’t post anything due to either being busy with life away from my Macintosh or lack of things to post.

  5. Duni – will definately check out the “Law of Attraction” book that you mentioned.

    Kacy – Great idea as in regards to the interior decor photos!

    Irtiza – I’m doing ok, how about you? There are times where I don’t post anything due to either being busy with life away from my Macintosh or lack of things to post.

  6. Hey, thanks for linking to me. Not only that but you have a Mac! *drools*

    I know squat about Italy expect for the lovely reviews I often hear about the country from travelers. Living there, I am sure is different as exemplified in your blog.

    I used to be an expat too and loved it. Now, if I had my druthers, I’d like to be either back in Japan or try living in Denmark.

    If McCain/Palin wins, argh….

  7. I hate to be a downer… (ok, actually I love it) but the Law of Attraction works more on attainable goals with real rewards (some psychological, some sociological, etc..) Therefore your Lotto ticket isn’t the sort of thing that would be helpful on a Vision Board. I might suggest replacing it with something that would be more fulfilling. Winning the lottery is a one-time sudden surge of riches and often leads to problems… instead focus on family, relationships, friends or values that you want to attract.

  8. Virgomonkey – anytime! Came across your blog while surfing blogs one night and found it rather interesting. Keep up the good work!

    I visited Japan about 8 years ago and really enjoyed it. Spent New Year’s there, in Yokohama, visited a bath house, Tokyo. A good friend of mine is originally from Yokohama but now is living outside Dallas. If I have the opportunity to visit Japan again, I will in a heartbeat. I found the Japanese to very friendly and ever so polite. Of course while there, I don’t remember how many times we went out for karaoke.

    I take it you’re also anti McCain/Palin?

    Strong Moderate – Thank you for your input/opinion. Yes winning the lottery is a one-time sudden surge of riches, but as far as leading to problems, the key word that you mention is “often”, but not always. There are more important things that I am also focusing on that I just have not put up on my vision board. Non-material things that have no monetary value. Each person is different and of course each person’s vision board is going to be different.

  9. Captain Boondoggle

    Oprah’s Secret is that she is rich.

  10. That is an obvious “secret” that Oprah Winfrey is rich. To the tune of a net worth of over $2.5 Billion, as of September 2007 and a salary of $385 million.

  11. michelle | bleeding espresso

    I definitely believe our attitudes have effects on what comes into our lives; I’ve definitely seen much more success since consciously, purposely focusing on the positives in life…and I see nothing wrong with having dreams and wishes. They just might come true 😉

  12. Michelle, my thoughts exactly! Ever since I’ve started to change my tune, I have noticed things happening more for the better. I think that once you change your attitude and outlook on life, that other people notice that.

    Good things that have happened to me since reading The Secret and having a more positive attitude:
    – Won the lottery twice in a row. Ok it was for a total of about 25 euros, but hey, I WON!
    – Was thinking about someone I hadn’t seen in awhile and ran into that person shortly after.
    – Have had several new students start in the last couple of weeks and also raised my rates a bit, so therefore I am busier and more cash in my sock drawer.

  13. I have read the book and watched the movie also and I firmly believe in the Law of Attraction. This principle along with others have really helped me in my life.

  14. Have had a couple of things happen also this week since I have starting implementing a more positive attitude:
    – Went to a fish & chips shop down the street. Had been there a few times before and had been awhile since my last visit. The owner made the comment, "You're looking good!" in a tone of voice as if he had noticed something was different.
    – The other night was at my mother-in-law's place, dressed casual (as usual) in jeans and in a nice blouse that I've worn on several occasions. She made the comment that I was dressed rather elegant and seemed "different" in a positive way.

  15. Now you remind me to implement the Law of Attraction in my life. I’ve watched the video few months ago and rather forget about it. Glad that I read your post. 😀

  16. Hi Ann,
    I first saw ‘The Secret’ video a couple of years ago, but didn’t start applying it until after we decided to move to Trento, Italy for a year in 2007. Before the move, we needed to move out of and rent out our house, sell some of our stuff (a car, some furniture, etc.), and get our visas (probably the most stressful of all!). We accomplished all of these. Was it because of ‘The Secret’? It’s hard to say, but what ‘The Secret’ does is put you in the right frame of mind and to be open to suggestions and ideas that will help you to reach your goals.
    By the way, I’ve met a number of people who have studied English in Canada, so I suspect there are a lot of TESOL/TEFL opportunities there. Toronto is a great city with lots of immigrants. Have you looked there? Good luck! Ciao!

  17. this knowledge has been around for centuries! 🙂 i have the book but i havent read it yet but i already read too many comments about it and somehow i already know what its about. You might also like the celestine prophecy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

