Dental Implants

I broke one of my front bottom teeth over the weekend. That makes two in less than six months. The other was while I was in the States, one of my canine teeth started to crack, then when less than a month after returning to Italy, broke completely. This canine tooth I had a root canal done on two years ago, here in Italy. The dentist that did the root canal said I don’t know how many times how poor of a job American dentists do. Had the canine tooth pulled, went to a public dentist, so the public health care system paid for everything except for 10 Euro. Italy is a welfare country, meaning the health care system is public, everyone is covered. One can go to a private doctor/dentist but have to pay the full amount. If a person wants to go to a public dentist, there is usually a long waiting list to get in. Unless you know someone/have connections. My father-in-law is a retired cardiologist/director of one of the hospitals in the area, so if I need to get in to see the dentist like ASAP, not a problem.

Anyways, back to my now two broken teeth. Now I have to go to the dentist to get the second tooth pulled, then wait for my jaw and gums to heal, and have two dental implants put in. Getting the second tooth pulled, ok no problem, no fear as far as pain etc. I am kind of nervous about getting the dental implants put in though. The thought of having screws put into my jaw is kind of nerve wracking. But as long as the end result is I have two new “teeth” and am able to smile and eat with more confidence, then it’s worth the pain and effort of having the dental implants put in. My biggest stress/worry is the price tag. The current dentist I am going to, is a private dentist, so any work done is not covered by the health system. Each dental implant is going to cost about 1,400 Euro, so about $1,680. So not only a pain in the mouth, but also to the pocket book. I can pay part of the first dental implant, but the second one, need help. Please contribute using the button on the side marked Dental Implant Fund. Once both implants are done, which have read can take from 3-6 months from start to finish. Any help would be greatly appreciated, and will make sure to post a photo of my “new teeth” once completed, for those who contribute.

One response to “Dental Implants

  1. How painful are the dental implants

Leave a Reply

