Italian Health Care

With each doctor visit here in Italy, makes me more disgusted by the health care system here. The Italian health care system is a welfare system, meaning everyone is covered and doctor visits etc are covered by the State, or have a low co-pay. Ok that is all fine and dandy, but lacks in organization. For example, my orthodontist wanted a panoramic x-ray of my mouth. So he wrote a “prescription” which I had to take to my family doctor for him to write an actual prescription then I had to take that to the local hospital, make an appointment for the x-ray. Return for the appointment, go back to the hospital a few days later to pick up the x-ray and take it to my orthodontist. This is normal, even for a simple blood test.

Then there’s the hospital itself. Thankfully I’ve never had to spend any amount of serious time there. Mainly just to visit a family member and the occasional test. I’d be horrified to be an actual patient in the hospital. The buildings themselves look like something out of a 1950’s or 60’s horror film. If hospitals looked like that in the States, they for sure would be either condemned or who know’s what else. Once my Italian mother-in-law was in the hospital for a few days, she shared a room with three other patients, with no bathroom in the room, they had to go down the hall to use the restroom. When my sister-in-law had her daughter, the bedframe had rust on it, and she was in one of the “better” hospitals in Milan.

9 responses to “Italian Health Care

  1. well you aren’t kidding about that. i would say that the hospital down here in naples hasn’t been remodeled since the first world war…

    by the way, who’s the texan among you gals?

  2. you idiots..it’s the world’s best health system after France..educate yourself and stop picking at old buildings…morons

  3. you idiots..it’s the world’s best health system after France..educate yourself and stop picking at old buildings…morons

  4. Now who is the mornon here Mr/Ms Anonymous? You hide your “identity”, are you afraid of something? Do you have any facts to back up your claim as far as Italy’s health care system being 2nd only after France? From what I heard, Germany also has a pretty good system. I’ve seen a hospital and the system in Scotland, all I can say is wow. What impressed me the most was how ORGANIZED it was, and like Italy, a public health system. From what I have used of the Italian health system, if it weren’t for my father-in-law, I would be lost in the system so to speak. I do not doubt that the care is good, it is just arriving at that point. If only more funds/time/organization/efforts where put into the Italian health system, would be a great help. I think the health system here has a lot of potential, don’t get me wrong, it’s just disorganized!

  5. Now who is the mornon here Mr/Ms Anonymous? You hide your “identity”, are you afraid of something? Do you have any facts to back up your claim as far as Italy’s health care system being 2nd only after France? From what I heard, Germany also has a pretty good system. I’ve seen a hospital and the system in Scotland, all I can say is wow. What impressed me the most was how ORGANIZED it was, and like Italy, a public health system. From what I have used of the Italian health system, if it weren’t for my father-in-law, I would be lost in the system so to speak. I do not doubt that the care is good, it is just arriving at that point. If only more funds/time/organization/efforts where put into the Italian health system, would be a great help. I think the health system here has a lot of potential, don’t get me wrong, it’s just disorganized!

  6. anonymous was right italy does have 2nd best health system in the world look up world health organization stats anyway ann if you’re not happy go back to your great health system in usa make sure you have private insurance then again that probably won’t help you and your government sure as hell won’t because they’re all in the pockets of the insurance e pharmaceutical companies so its not god bless america god help america and no i’m not anti american i know not all americans are like you thinking that the world owes you

  7. Michael, or is it Michele? Yes I have since read about the World Health Organization’s stats. Stats are just that, stats, numbers. Are they judging the Italian system on the entire country, or only parts? I know the American health system run by the insurance and pharmaceutical companies. Tell me something that I don’t know. I have been on both sides of the tracks in the States, uninsured and insured. I personally know people that are without insurance. The system is crap, along with the Administration.
    If the Italian system is so “perfect”, why did my ITALIAN husband decide to treat a 2nd degree burn I had here at home versus taking me to the emergency room?

  8. Loc, the article you posted is about someone’s experience in Umbria. That is just ONE region in Italy. One out of twenty. Care is going to vary from region to region, even possibly from one hospital to the next.

Leave a Reply

