Culture Shock

I arrived back in the States last week. I’m so glad to be back. I flew Aerlingus from Milan Italy, layover in Dublin, Ireland with final Destination Chicago. When I checked in for my flight, the gal at the ticket counter checked my bags through to Chicago, but would only check me through Dublin. Ok fine whatever. Then my flight was delayed due to London’s radar being down, so we couldn’t fly over London airspace. When I arrived in Dublin, I had 45 minutes to check in for my next flight and book it to the gate. I arrive at the Aerlingus ticket counter, only to find out that my flight was already closed, and according to the computer my bags weren’t checked all the way through. I had to show the gal that YES my bags were checked to Chicago, was beyond my control that my flight arrived late and the lady in Milan wouldn’t check me all the way through. Needless to say she was able to get me on the flight.

I made into Chicago ok, took a bus to Rockford, Illinois and spent the night at a friend’s house. I arrived in Sioux Falls, South Dakota a week ago yesterday, and have already found a job and just bought a used car today.

3 responses to “Culture Shock

  1. It is nice to see you blogging again. Incredible, how you found the job so quickly! 🙂 I’m sure your time in the US will flow more smoothly than it did in Italy, that is, when you have to deal with bureaucracy. I wish the best for your dad.

  2. Hello:

    I am a fashion photographer currently living and working in Europe with a residence in Finland. On my weblog I’m doing a series of pieces on the trials and pitfalls of living abroad. I’d like to link to your weblog if that would be ok…its quite interesting. You can view my weblog at http://www.grapixeye.com/blog and you can view my main site at http://www.grapixeye.com. Have a great day.

    Michel McDowell
    Helsinki, FInland

  3. Kampanye Damai pemilu Indonesia 2009

    Thx for your Good information.keep blogging,so i can read your aticle again

Leave a Reply

