Morimondo

Yes I admit I have neglected this blog. My original intention “years ago” when I started this blog was to blog about my life here in Italy as an Expat originally from the midwest of the United States. Well, after over seven and a half years of living in Italy, I’m still here and I feel that there is not much to blog about anymore. No I am not totally abandoning this blog, but posts will not be very frequent. I’ve already done the posts about my ordeals of obtaining my permit to stay and eventual Italian citizenship. Bureaucratic nightmares that I do not wish to relive. One thing that I haven’t mentioned and I am thankful that I obtained Italian citizenship when I did is that shortly after I officially become an Italian citizen the Italian post office has taken over trying to help the Questure (police) in handling the paperwork for the permit to stays. This has turned into a bureaucratic mess and have heard there is a backlog of literally thousands of applications and people receiving expired permit to stays.

Last Sunday we did have a little “outing”, the first time in a long while. We visited a small village called Morimondo which is about 20 kilometers (roughly 12 miles) southwest of Milan. There is a nice abbey that dates back to 1182.

11 responses to “Morimondo

  1. I am SO JEALOUS!! Retired in MN after living on Long Island all of my life. Went to Italy 4 yrs. ago. Travelled to many cities and wanted to move there. Wish I had the courage to make the move. Hope to make another trip there. Rome, Milan, FLORENCE, and the Amalfi Coast..all wonderful. Next time, I’d like to go to the opera in Milan. Enjoy your adventure.

    • Nurse007, I can imagine that was a bit of a change, Long Island to Minnesota. Before moving to Italy, I did seriously consider moving to the Twin Cities. I didn’t follow thru was my dad was in a nursing home at the time. Then I went on vacation in 2001 here to Italy, met my husband and the rest is history..

  2. Lovely pictures of Morimondo and the abbey. I enjoy your blog and the pictures you post. Have missed your blogs!

    • Thanks Irene. I know, I have been a slacker for too long now on posting. Lately there hasn’t been much going on, haven’t traveled anywhere recently.

  3. So.. I finally did it.. Am a physician in Washington DC that finally decided for once and all to pull out of the rat race. Gave my notice of termination to my job at the hospital and will be moving to Italy( veneto) in May.. I am dreading a lot if things.. Mainly if thus was the right decision.. All I know is I love Italy and am tired of the stressful days of life in DC. I am learning the Italian. Don’t have my Italian medical license but have a good Italian man waiting for me there. I will take it day by day to figure out how to work in Italy but for now am enjoying my strength and the courage it took to pull out of the rat race and start living my life. Life is too short.. How mantly agree???

  4. Hi there,
    I have come across your blog in a really weird way and it has made my day in a really weird way.
    I am an Aussie married to an Austrian but with lots of wonderful Italian friends. Now I found your site as I was googling all about I comment-U follow as Im making a website and want to build links. So then I find your site and you happen to be in Varese which is where our dearest friends live! They live in Lonate Ceppino. I love love love Italy, and I have mostly only seen the gritty, not so beautiful parts!

    Anyway, finding your blog about living in Italy has made my day as I miss my friends and living in Europe a lot. Ciao!

  5. Quality articles is the main to invite the visitors to pay a quick visit the site,
    that’s what this website is providing.

  6. Ann, so nice to hear from you again. I’ve been thinking of you and how you helped me find information of my dad’s time as a POW in Busto Arsizio and wondering if you were still in Italy.
    Irene

    • Hi Irene!!!!! Yes I am still here in Busto Arsizio! Many times when I pass by that church I think of you and wonder how’ you’re doing. All is okay?

      • I am doing well. My husband retired in 2009 and we are kept busy with our 5 grandchildren. I have an album of the pictures you sent of that beautiful church and treasure them! A huge piece of my dad’s pow experience would have been missing without your help! i wish he has lived long enough to see them but he has been gone since 1994. Hope you are well and enjoying life in Italy! We’re still hoping to make a trip over there once day….

  7. Good answers in return of this question with real arguments and describing the whole thing about
    that.

Leave a comment